The 2023 Golden Globes

The Golden Globes returned to NBC in 2023 after the network declined to air the awards ceremony last year. An exposé conducted by the Los Angeles Times in 2021 revealed that The Hollywood Foreign Press Association, the organization in charge of the Golden Globes, contained no Black members on their board, and they had engaged in suspicious financial practices and unethical conduct, leaving the Globes to not be publicly aired. 

The HFPA now has a voting poll that is 52 percent female and 51.5 percent racially and ethnically diverse.

In light of the debate regarding the previous lack of diversity among its members, host Jerrod Carmichael went after the HFPA in his opening speech. 

“Welcome to the 80th annual Golden Globe awards. I am your host Jerrod Carmichael,” the 35-year-old comedian said at the beginning of his monologue. “And I’ll tell you why I’m here. I’m here because I’m Black.” Carmichael continued by mentioning how he thought being offered $500,000 for the job as well as being asked to meet one-on-one with the HFPA’s president Helen Hoenhe three times was “a trap.”

However, Carmichael’s frankness in his speech has been criticized and even upsetting to Hoenhe. 

“The whole thing was so awkward and uncomfortable,” said an insider. Another insider, however, claimed that Carmichael’s mentioning of the controversy from 2022 should have been expected.

Pushing past the awkwardness of the beginning of the awards ceremony, actor Eddie Murphy and TV producer Ryan Murphy won the Cecil B. DeMille Award and the Carol Burnett Award, respectively. 

The Cecil B. DeMille Award recognizes individuals who give outstanding contributions to the entertainment industry. “I’ve been in show business for 46 years, and I’ve been in the movie business for 41 years,” Murphy said in his speech. “This has been a long time in the making, and it’s greatly appreciated. There is a definitive blueprint that you can follow to achieve prosperity and peace of mind.”

As for the Carol Burnett Award, it recognizes lifetime achievement in the entertainment industry. “Tonight’s award made me reflect on what a lifetime of achievement really is,” the 57-year old producer stated. Murphy also offered up some of his speech in recognition of LGBTQ kids. “But for those kids watching tonight…there is a way forward.”

The Golden Globes boasted more categories than previous ceremonies, but the top awards still took center stage. 

Austin Butler took home the Best Actor in a Drama Motion Picture Globe for his role in “Elvis,” while Cate Blanchett won the Best Actress in a Drama Motion Picture award for her role in “Tàr.” 

For Best Drama Motion Picture, “The Fablemens” got the award, however this came as a shock for most, since “Elvis” and “Top Gun: Maverick” were believed to be the top two contenders. Following that, Stephen Speilburg won the Best Director for a Motion Picture Award for “The Fablemens.”

Other major winners included Zendaya for her role in “Euphoria” (Best Actress in a Television Series, Drama), Angela Basset for “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” (Best Supporting Actress, Motion Picture), and Evan Peters for his role in “Dahmer- Monster: The Jeffery Dahmer Story” (Best Performance by an Actor, Limited Series, Anthology Series or Motion Picture made for Television). 

Here’s a list of some of the other categories, nominees, and winners:

Best Screenplay, Motion Picture

“Tár” (Focus Features) — Todd Field 

“Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24) — Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert 

“The Banshees of Inisherin” (Searchlight Pictures) — Martin McDonagh (WINNER)

“Women Talking” (MGM/United Artists Releasing) — Sarah Polley 

“The Fabelmans” (Universal Pictures) — Steven Spielberg, Tony Kushner

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy

Lesley Manville (“Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris”) 

Margot Robbie (“Babylon”) 

Anya Taylor-Joy (“The Menu”) 

Emma Thompson (“Good Luck to You, Leo Grande”) 

Michelle Yeoh (“Everything Everywhere All at Once”) (WINNER)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy

Diego Calva (“Babylon”) 

Daniel Craig (“Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery”)

Adam Driver (“White Noise”) 

Colin Farrell (“The Banshees of Inisherin”) (WINNER)

Ralph Fiennes (“The Menu”) 

Best Supporting Actor – Motion Picture

Brendan Gleeson (“The Banshees of Inisherin”) 

Barry Keoghan (“The Banshees of Inisherin”) 

Brad Pitt (“Babylon”)

Ke Huy Quan (“Everything Everywhere All at Once”) WINNER

Eddie Redmayne (“The Good Nurse”)

Best Television Series, Drama

“Better Call Saul” (AMC) 

“The Crown” (Netflix) 

“House of the Dragon” (HBO) (WINNER)

“Ozark” (Netflix) 

“Severance” (Apple TV+) 

Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series, Drama

Jeff Bridges (“The Old Man”) 

Kevin Costner (“Yellowstone”) (WINNER)

Diego Luna (“Andor”)

Bob Odenkirk (“Better Call Saul”)

Adam Scott (“Severance”)

Best Supporting Actor, Television

John Lithgow (“The Old Man”) 

Jonathan Pryce (“The Crown”) 

John Turturro (“Severance”) 

Tyler James Williams (“Abbott Elementary”) WINNER

Henry Winkler (“Barry”)

Best Supporting Actress, Television

Elizabeth Debicki (“The Crown”) 

Hannah Einbinder (“Hacks”) 

Julia Garner (“Ozark”) (WINNER)

Janelle James (“Abbott Elementary”) 

Sheryl Lee Ralph (“Abbott Elementary”)

Best Performance by an Actress, Limited Series, Anthology Series or a Motion Picture made for Television

Jessica Chastain (“George and Tammy”) 

Julia Garner (“Inventing Anna”) 

Lily James (“Pam & Tommy”) 

Julia Roberts (“Gaslit”) 

Amanda Seyfried (“The Dropout”) (WINNER)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *